Newbie Question - Solo Zone Progression

Discussion in 'New Player Welcome' started by mrboom74, Mar 7, 2023.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mrboom74

mrboom74 Avatar

Hello avatars!

Newbie here, I’m about 10 hours into the game and I am starting to get a feel for the mechanics and systems and I am really enjoying it so far!

I am mostly a solo player and I have completed two of the outskirts scenes (Solace and Blood River) but I am not really sure where to go next. I’ve read that doing all 3 outskirts scenes is suggested, but I feel like I have a good understanding of the game mechanics at this point and I breezed though Blood River. Is the 3rd outskirt scene more challenging or about the same? Is it really necessary for me to do it before going off and exploring?

I have visited a few tier 3 scenes and they have a good challenge level for me, but I just find myself grinding bandits/cultists/beasts until I get full of loot, then I go sell it, rinse and repeat.

Is this the general pattern for the game? Grind a tier until it becomes trivial, then move to the next tier? Are there any scenes that are particularly more fruitful than others? Are there any scenes that are tier 2 or 3 that are known to have better loot or that are known to be more engaging than grinding mobs?

Sorry for the wall of text and multitude of questions, I am just feeling a bit overwhelmed/lost at my current place in the game and want to make sure I am not missing out on anything.

Thanks!

2. ConjurerDragon

ConjurerDragon Avatar

The 3rd Ourskirts scene is Highvale Outskirts. Go there, even for the looks and scenery alone. Swamps. Mountains. Monastery. Monsters.

In the WIKI
    https://sotawiki.net/sota/Scene_Difficulty
    you will find a list of all zones listed by their Tier level. The starting zones are Tier 1 and relatively harmless, except for some surprises.